About Us

Based in Washington, D.C., Coin Center is the leading non-profit research and advocacy center focused on the public policy issues facing cryptocurrency and decentralized computing technologies like Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Our mission is to build a better understanding of these technologies and to promote a regulatory climate that preserves the freedom to innovate using permissionless blockchain technologies.

We do this by producing and publishing policy research from respected academics and experts, educating policymakers and the media about blockchain technology, and by engaging in advocacy for sound public policy. Learn more about our work.

The Team

Jerry Brito
Executive Director

Robin Weisman
Senior Policy Counsel

Peter Van Valkenburgh
Research Director

Neeraj Agrawal
Communications Director

Antonie Hodge
Operations Director

Board of Directors

Alex Morcos
Co-founder of Chaincode Labs and Hudson River Trading, Bitcoin Core contributor

Balaji Srinivasan

Wences Casares
CEO of Xapo, Board Member of PayPal

Susan Athey
Professor of Economics at Stanford Graduate School of Business

Jerry Brito
Executive Director of Coin Center

Advisory Board

Fred Wilson
Co-founder & Managing Partner at Unions Square Ventures

Marc Andreessen
Co-founder & General Partner at Andreessen Horowitz

Mark Wetjen
Managing Director at DTCC, former CFTC Commissioner

Jason Weinstein
Partner at Steptoe, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

John Villasenor
Professor of electrical engineering and public policy at UCLA, nonresident senior fellow at the Brookings Institution

Nicolas Christin
Assistant Research Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University

Coin Center Fellows

Houman Shadab
Professor of Law at New York Law School

Benjamin Dean
President, Iconoclast Tech; former fellow at Columbia SIPA & at Center for Democracy & Technology

Elizabeth Stark
Co-founder of Lightning, former lecturer at Yale Law School

Supported by top individuals, companies & investors